Welcome to our Winners at this years Scottish Veterans Awards 2020 – 2021!!

We would like to thank everyone who attended this years Scottish Veterans Awards, held at the Village Hotel and Leisure Club Edinburgh on the 6th October 2021.  The Awards were sponsored by TMT Construction and in Support of The ABF The Soldiers’ Charity! It was such a fantastic event with a great atmosphere in the room!

Well done to everyone who was shortlisted as finalists, we had a huge amount of applications and the shortlisting process was extremely difficult. We would also like to take this opportunity to thank everyone who put forward nominations, you are all doing amazing things in your relevant fields and you should be so proud of your achievements!

Extremely thankful and very Honoured to have the support from The Scottish Veterans Commissioner Colonel Charlie Wallace DL, Edinburgh Garrison Commander Lt Col Hugo Clarke MBE,  Garrison Sergeant Major Anthony Gibson, Charles Dunphie (ABF The Soldiers’ Charity Scotland)  and the fantastic former Special Forces Operator Colin Maclachlan.  A special thanks also has to go to the  Mini Pipe Band from the Army School of Bagpipe Music & Highland Drumming, Scots Guards and The Regimental Mascot of the Royal Regiment of Scotland Cpl Cruanchan IV

We are so thankful to all our supporters, volunteers and sponsors who helped put this amazing night together!

Some of the highlights of the night saw former Scottish International Footballer and now Sporting Director at Falkirk FC Gary Holt take home the Contibution to Scottish Sport Award, Gavin Neate from Neatebox become our Entrepreneur of the year award winner  and the fantastic Jason Hare of Horseback UK  who became our Inspiration of the Year winner and our Scottish Veterans Awards Champion. (Jason Received a special commissioned piece that was made by Dan a Military veteran and owner of Veteran Trees)

We want to Inspire our future service leavers that great things can happen. It’s you who will act as role models and in some cases mentors, remember Positivity breeds Positivity.

Our Winners are :


Veterans Awards Champion:  Jason Hare – Horseback UK


Role Model of the Year- Sponsored by Print Inc Embroidery and Print 
Winner  – Garry Cowan
Silver – Les Mason
Bronze – Brett Townsley BCA
Inspiration of the Year Award – Sponsored by Ridge Steel
Winner  –Jason Hare – Horseback UK 
Silver –  Jeff Williams – VUAS
Bronze –   Chris Gillan – Heroes Drinks 
The Community Awards – Sponsored by Joint Force Alba
Winner  –Marc Hutton 
Silver – Colin Butcher
Bronze – Fiona Laing & John Bradley
Contribution to the Scottish Fitness Industry and Society 
Winner  –John Owens
Silver – Charlie Brister – Be Military Fit
Bronze – Peter Stewart –  CTC Grampian
Contribution to the Scottish Sport – Sponsored by TMT Construction
Winner  –Gary Holt – Falkirk FC
Silver –  Chris Paterson
Bronze – Bill Little


Entrepreneur of the Year- Sponsored by Hugh James Solicitors
Winner  –Gavin Neate  – Neatebox
Silver –  Mark Laird –  Lairds of Troon
Bronze – Darren Philpson – Four one Safety Solutions


Employer of the Year- Sponsored by Hugh James Solicitors
Winner  – Lothian Buses
Silver –  RB safety Consultants Ltd
Bronze –  Royal Bank of Scotland


Veteran Owned Business  of the Year- Sponsored by Pathfinder Magazine
Winner  – Lairds of Troon
Silver – Omniscient Safety Innovations
Bronze – LCS Embroidery Ltd



Volunteer of the Year –  Terrestres Servo Coronas
Winner  – Mark Harper  
Silver – Jeff Williams  
Bronze – David Curruthers 
Lifetime Achievement – Sponsored by TMT Construction
Winner  – William Brian Howieson 
Silver –  John Owens
Bronze – Suzanne Fernando MBE BCAh

We would like to take this opportunity to thank all our Shortlisted Finalists remember its you who inspire our future service leavers – Keep an eye out on Facebook for pictures of the evening coming soon over on our Facebook page!